Explore other IDC events

CIO of the Year

Technological Leadership in an Age of Uncertainty

Welcome to the CIO of the Year party!

On June 8, we will award the CIO of the Year 2023 in Denmark. Will you join the celebration?

It is the 18th time we will find and celebrate the CIO of the Year in Denmark. The awardshow takes place from 13.30-22.00 at the BMW Experience Center in Kongens Lyngby.

We are looking forward to welcome you!


This year's CIO of the Year 2023 will be based on an overall theme: "Technological Leadership in an Age of Uncertainty".

The theme is partly derived from IDC's 2023 theme "Navigating Through the Storms of Disruption" as well as the fact that the IT industry is increasingly affected by global political, economic and health events. The British journalist and economist Adam Tooze has called these circumstances polycrisis.

It will probably be like this for a long time to come. But at the same time, there are signs that the force of gravity is also applying to the digital area. We see this in demands for faster and clearer ROI, in the form of clearer and more restrictive regulation and by clearer impacts from the global events.

This means that a large number of dogmas about operations, about working methods and how to use technology partners are now up in the air.

At the same time, the overall message from the team behind CIO of the Year 2023 is that we believe in technology as a positive force for change for humanity – provided that it is used (and managed) correctly.

Why Attend?
The CIO of the Year is the day when we highlight and celebrate the good role models. It is the day where we can talk about the essential change we create from IT and how crucial it is to the continued success of our organisations. We inspire each other to do even better and are allowed to share the good stories.

Nominees to CIO of the Year 2023

Nomination Process

  • December 2022 – Jury in place and the campaign updated
  • January 2023 – Recruitment starts
  • April 11th, 2023 – Deadline for candidates to submit nominations
  • End of April 2023 – 2nd jury meeting - Top 5 candidates
  • May 2023 – Candidate interviews and profiling
  • Start June 2023 – 3rd jury meeting – The winner is found
  • June 8th, 2023 – Award ceremony and celebration

CIO of the Year Jury 2023

The Jury behind CIO of the Year 2023



Filter Topics

Thursday June 8, 2023

Arrival and registration

  • Networking

Welcome to CIO of the Year 2023


Teknologikonkurrencen og dens implikationer for Danmark


The New Role of the Technology Leader


Moving from Disruption to Transformation in a Fragmented World


Networking Break

  • Networking

How to ensure a culture based on innovation, freedom and humanity in an uncertain world


Accelerate from idea to innovation faster


Discussion: Technological leadership in 2023


Meet the Candidates for CIO of the Year 2023


Gin tasting, networking and the opportunity to see the exhibition and possibly a test drive

  • Networking

Dinner with speeches and the winner is announced after the main course


BMW Experience Center
Firskovvej 33, 2800 Kongens Lyngby



Previous Winners

2022 - Ann Fogelgren

Company: GN

2021 - Morten Holm Christiansen

Company: Coop

2020 - Peter Cabello Holmberg

Company: Pandora

2019 - Stig Lundbech

Company: Københavns Kommune

2018 - Jesper Riis

Company: DSV

2017 - Torben Kjær

Company: Rambøll

2016 - Morten Gade Christensen

Company: Energinet

2015 - Torben Ruberg

Company: Falck

2014 - Claus Hagen Nielsen

Company: COWI

2013 - Jens Hartmann

Company: Grundfos

2012 - Mikael Munck

Company: Saxo Bank

2011 - Torben Høeg Bonde

Company: Vestas

2010 - Michael Moesgaard

Company: Dong Energy

2009 - Michael Steen Hansen

Organisation: Region Sjælland

2008 - Niels Molzen

Company: Danisco

2007 - Kenneth Egelund Schmidt

Company: Danfoss

2006 - Lars Mathiesen

Company: Nykredit

Highlights from 2022

Photo Gallery

Not the right event for you?

Don't worry! There are plenty of other events to choose from. Simply sign up for event invitations and we'll send you a notification whenever we add a new event that matches your interests.

Contact Us

Camilla Hove Toft

Conference Director, IDC

Mai Andersen

Eventansvarlig, Computerworld


About IDC &

International Data Corporation (IDC) is the premier global provider of market intelligence, advisory services, and events for the information technology, telecommunications, and consumer technology markets. With more than 1,200 analysts worldwide, IDC offers global, regional, and local expertise on technology and industry opportunities and trends in over 110 countries.


Computerworld is Denmark's largest media for everyone who is part of or interested in digital business and the digital transformation. We work at the intersection of technology, business, and society.At Computerworld, we believe that new technology can help create a better future and a better society for us all. Every month we share our deep interest in and insight into the technologies and the associated opportunities with over 300,000 unique readers on Computerworl.dk as well as via our magazine, our podcasts, our 70 annual conferences, executive meetings, and our course activities.